Having functioned over the years as informal network for collaboration, coordination and exchange of ideas on issues of common interest with regard to European audiovisual policy, the European Film Agency Directors (EFAD) became on 9 December 2014 an international non-profit Association based in Brussels.

The EFAD have four working groups meeting on a regular basis, dealing respectively with:  Film Education, Gender & Inclusion, Policy and Strategy and Sustainability.  You can also find our common Position papers and press-releases.

The EFAD association brings together the Directors of Film Agencies in 35 countries in Europe (the 27 Member-States of the EU + Norway, Iceland, the Republic of North Macedonia, Serbia, Montenegro, Switzerland and the United Kingdom). The EFAD’s Board is composed of 11 high level representatives.

EFAD members meet at three or four plenary meetings every year and at numerous working group and Think Tank meetings across Europe. The EFAD also co-organise events, workshops and screenings in partnership with Creative Europe MEDIA and various audiovisual stakeholders.

During the General Assembly meeting organized in San Sebastian on 25 September 2023, EFAD members elected the new Board of the association.

The following 12 members were elected for a 3-year mandate:

  1. Nicola Borrelli, Director General of Ministry of Culture Directorate for Cinema, Italy
  2. Nataša Bučar, Managing Director of the Slovenian Film Centre, Slovenia
  3. Ignasi Camós, Director General of the Institute of Cinematography and Audiovisual Arts, Spain
  4. Luis Chaby Vaz, President of the Institute of Cinema and Audiovisual, Portugal
  5. Peter Dinges, CEO of the German Federal Film Board, Germany
  6. Olivier Henrard, Director General of National Centre for Cinema and the Moving Image, France
  7. Athena Kartalou-Aduku, Managing Director of the Greek Film Centre, Greece
  8. Christopher Peter Marcich, CEO of Croatian Audiovisual Center, Croatia
  9. Kjersti Mo, CEO of the Norwegian Film Institute, Norway
  10. Edith Sepp, CEO of the Estonian Film Institute, Estonia
  11. Roland Teichmann, CEO of Austrian Film Institute, Austria
  12. Koen Van Bockstal, CEO of the Flanders Audiovisual Fund, Belgium (Dutch Speaking)


September 2023

Webpage: https://europeanfilmagencies.eu/